Heart of Glass

Earlier this week, I wrote about my first attempts with the jeweller’s saw, riveting and patinating. The result was a little copper heart pendant – sundered and black, with all the dents and scars that life delivers.


About the same time, I came across Dwyn Tomlinson’s new lampwork series of Sundered Hearts. The pre-Christmas present to myself shown here is one of her lovely pieces in dark butterscotch with rivers of blue throughout. I paired this glass heart with brown and blue Boro lampwork teardrops from BeadFX and my remaining length of Shannon LeVart’s wonderful handmade copper chain.


In an earlier post entitled Lilith’s Vine, I talked about one of Dwyn’s other pieces – a glowing chrysalis – that I strung with Boro beads, Dwyn’s lampwork whorls and recycled sari silk along with more of Shannon’s chain.

By the way, Dwyn has blogged a number of articles about taking great jewellery photographs. I need to get a macro lens and go re-read them.

4 responses to “Heart of Glass

  1. Awesome! Really fabulous! Thank you for posting this!

  2. Dwyn, I love the way you’ve written up your lampwork hearts on Etsy. I like the idea of also stringing these hearts to emphasize the break, rather than stringing straight through. Will try that on the next heart which is purple, paired with dark Boro beads called Abyss Glitter. Very Twilight!

  3. You did a great job stringing this beauty and made an altogether wonderful piece! The butterscotch and blue is stunning!

  4. This is amazing! Dwyn’s Sundered Heart is out of this world beautiful and what you did with it is incredible. What an honor to have you create with something I made.

Leave a Reply

