Repo Vet

As a member of the veterinary medical profession, I solemnly swear that I will use my scientific knowledge and skills for the benefit of society.

I will strive to promote animal health and welfare, relieve animal suffering, protect the health of the public and environment, and advance comparative medical knowledge.

I will practise my profession conscientiously, with dignity, and in keeping with the principles of veterinary medical ethics.

I will strive continuously to improve my professional knowledge and competence and to maintain the highest professional and ethical standards for myself and the profession.

Veterinarian’s Oath, CVMA

Dog MoneySo, we know there is no Hippocratic Oath for veterinarians. But perhaps there is a Hypocritical Oath for the fine doctor at Lehigh Animal Hospital (Florida) and others like him.

Protesters gathered outside the animal hospital a day after two dogs were put down because its owners couldn’t pay a $2,000 boarding bill.

The animal hospital insists they did nothing wrong. They provided the press with copies that show the hospital mailed several letters to the dog’s family warning they would give up ownership of the dogs if the bill was not paid.

But then good doctor Darry D Griebel killed the dogs, and then took donations from the community. Regardless of what went on with the family, the clinic killed the animals rather than help them get rehomed.

“The dogs were put down because they didn’t have a safe stable home to go to nor did they have any financial income to be cared for correctly.”

Congratulations, Lehigh Animal Hospital, you made international news.

Warning to anyone who leaves their animals at the vet’s … or a “shelter”.

2 responses to “Repo Vet

  1. this is outrageous and I hope the community persists and puts these people out of business. BUT, frankly, I’m not all that shocked. There is a perception common among most people that vets are altruistic and in it because they love animals. Indeed, I think a percentage are. But I also think there are a whole lot that are in it as it is a lucrative profession. Having had animals my entire life, I have met the spectrum of vets – from those with a true commitment, understanding and love of animals (yeah for Dr. Rae my vet!!) and others who simply see dollar signs when caring owners walk in with their animals.

    This actually ties in with a series of blogs I’m in the process of writing about the ethical side of being a vet –

  2. This Darry D Griebel should be put down himself. It’s clear thievery to receive donations from a community that believes the dogs will be given care with their donations. He should not think of himself a doctor. A demon perhaps.

Leave a Reply

